Zen Planner Alternative for Martial Arts Schools
Zen Planner prices its software by how many members you have and sells the website separately. Our prices are published flat numbers. Here is what each side publishes.
Free 24-hour preview. No contracts. Cancel anytime.
What Zen Planner does and who it suits
Zen Planner is gym and studio management software. Its Studio plan is published as covering membership management, online scheduling, member self-service, attendance tracking, belt and skill tracking, memberships and billing, payment processing, reporting and dashboards, staff and member mobile apps, payroll management, and a SugarWOD integration. A website, the Zen Planner Engage marketing product, a branded mobile app, and card readers are priced separately.
Best suited for
Zen Planner's own FAQ says it "was started in 2006 by a martial arts school owner who knew there had to be a more efficient way to manage his business and keep track of details on his students," and that it now serves over 5,000 customers worldwide. Its pricing model is the distinctive part: "Only pay for active members. No charges for prospects or staff." If your roster shrinks in the summer and grows in the fall, that is the argument.
Where Zen Planner shines
- Belt and skill tracking is included in the Studio plan, not an add-on
- You are billed only for Active Members — "prospects, alumni, staff, and pay-per-session attendees are never counted"
- Payment processing and payroll management are both inside Studio
- Month-to-month by default: "you're never locked into a long-term commitment". An annual contract is available on request
- Dedicated onboarding specialist and done-for-you data migration are listed as included
- "There is no setup or gateway fee with select preferred integrated payment processors"
Trade-offs to weigh
- Studio is published as "starting at $99/mo" and the bill "adjusts automatically each month based on your Active Member count", so the starting price is a floor, not a quote
- The website is a separate product starting at $99/mo; Engage is $249/mo; the branded mobile app and card readers are $39/mo each
- Payment processing carries an asterisk on the pricing page: "Additional charges and/or fees may apply", with no rate published
- Exact numbers come from a demo — the page says your Account Executive "will walk through exact numbers"
Zen Planner vs. 
The Zen Planner column is what Zen Planner publishes, read on 2026-09-26. Where it publishes nothing, the cell says so rather than guessing.
Published monthly price
- Zen Planner
- Studio from $99/mo · Website from $99/mo · Engage $249/mo · branded app $39/mo · card readers $39/moPromo: Month-to-month; annual contract available on request
- CyberKnockouts
- $50/mo (website) or $99/mo (admin panel)
Credit card processing
- Zen Planner
- Preferred processors including Zen Planner's in-house provider, Daxko Payments. No rate published; the feature carries the note "Additional charges and/or fees may apply."
- CyberKnockouts
- Stripe at 2.9% + 30¢ flat per card
Custom website included?
- Zen Planner
- No. The website is a separate product starting at $99/mo, described as customizable branded design with integrated lead capture.
- CyberKnockouts
- Custom 5-page site, copy included, loads under 1s ($999 one-time)
School website
- Zen Planner
- Separate product starting at $99/mo on top of the software
- CyberKnockouts
- Custom 5-page site, copy included — $999 one-time + $50/mo retainer
How the monthly price is set
- Zen Planner
- Scales with Active Member count and adjusts automatically each month; Studio starts at $99/mo
- CyberKnockouts
- Published flat prices: $50/mo for the site, $99/mo all-in with the admin panel
Member desk
- Zen Planner
- Included in Studio, starting at $99/mo
- CyberKnockouts
- Custom admin panel for members and billing — $1,499 one-time, or $2,250 bundled, + $99/mo
Card processing
- Zen Planner
- Preferred processors including in-house Daxko Payments; rate not published
- CyberKnockouts
- Your own Stripe account at Stripe's published 2.9% + 30¢ per domestic card charge
Whose name is on the statement
- Zen Planner
- Not stated on the pricing page
- CyberKnockouts
- Your academy's name, because the Stripe account is yours
Marketing automation
- Zen Planner
- Zen Planner Engage, $249/mo
- CyberKnockouts
- Lead forms and local SEO are part of the site build, not a separate monthly product
Before you pay
- Zen Planner
- Demo with an Account Executive for exact numbers
- CyberKnockouts
- Free 24-hour working preview of your own academy's site
Belt and skill tracking
- Zen Planner
- Listed as included in Studio
- CyberKnockouts
- Not a feature of our panel today. Our panel covers members, plans, failed cards, and who showed up
| What you are comparing | Zen Planner | CyberKnockouts |
|---|---|---|
| Published monthly price | Studio from $99/mo · Website from $99/mo · Engage $249/mo · branded app $39/mo · card readers $39/moPromo: Month-to-month; annual contract available on request | $50/mo (website) or $99/mo (admin panel) |
| Credit card processing | Preferred processors including Zen Planner's in-house provider, Daxko Payments. No rate published; the feature carries the note "Additional charges and/or fees may apply." | Stripe at 2.9% + 30¢ flat per card |
| Custom website included? | No. The website is a separate product starting at $99/mo, described as customizable branded design with integrated lead capture. | Custom 5-page site, copy included, loads under 1s ($999 one-time) |
| School website | Separate product starting at $99/mo on top of the software | Custom 5-page site, copy included — $999 one-time + $50/mo retainer |
| How the monthly price is set | Scales with Active Member count and adjusts automatically each month; Studio starts at $99/mo | Published flat prices: $50/mo for the site, $99/mo all-in with the admin panel |
| Member desk | Included in Studio, starting at $99/mo | Custom admin panel for members and billing — $1,499 one-time, or $2,250 bundled, + $99/mo |
| Card processing | Preferred processors including in-house Daxko Payments; rate not published | Your own Stripe account at Stripe's published 2.9% + 30¢ per domestic card charge |
| Whose name is on the statement | Not stated on the pricing page | Your academy's name, because the Stripe account is yours |
| Marketing automation | Zen Planner Engage, $249/mo | Lead forms and local SEO are part of the site build, not a separate monthly product |
| Before you pay | Demo with an Account Executive for exact numbers | Free 24-hour working preview of your own academy's site |
| Belt and skill tracking | Listed as included in Studio | Not a feature of our panel today. Our panel covers members, plans, failed cards, and who showed up |
Every Zen Planner cell above is quoted or paraphrased from the page we read on 2026-09-26.
Read the source (zenplanner.com/pricing) →Where we differ
Our published prices and what they cover. Nothing here is a comparison — it is what you get from us.
$999 + $50/mo
Custom 5-page site, copy included, mobile-first, loads in under 1 second, and local SEO. The $50/mo retainer covers hosting, updates, and keeping the site fast.
$2,250 + $99/mo
Save $248 against buying separately. The Rebuild plus a custom admin panel for members, plans, failed cards, and who showed up last night. Priority support and same-day fixes come with the panel.
2.9% + 30¢
Stripe standard card rate vs gym-software rates up to 5%. Apple Pay, Google Pay, ACH, and cards. Your academy's name on student bank statements.
QuickBooks Sync
Charges sync to QuickBooks Online, so your accountant does not rebuild the month from a CSV export.
No Contracts
No contracts. You see the preview before you pay, and you can cancel the retainer at any time.
Free 24h Preview
We build a working preview of your school's new website within 24 hours. You review it live on your own smartphone before paying a single cent.
Published prices side by side, on $25,000 a month of card tuition
Published starting prices only. Zen Planner states that Studio's price rises with your Active Member count, so its real number for your school can be higher than the floor shown here and only a demo will tell you. Nothing here is a quote or a savings claim.
Zen Planner, as published
- Studio at its published starting price ($99/mo × 12)
- from $1,188
- Website add-on at its starting price ($99/mo × 12)
- from $1,188
- Software + website at the published floor
- from $2,376
- Card processing
- No rate published
CyberKnockouts, as published
- Web + Admin Panel, one-time
- $2,250
- All-in retainer ($99/mo × 12)
- $1,188
- Website only: one-time
- $999
- Website only: retainer ($50/mo × 12)
- $600
The arithmetic on those published prices
At the published floors: $2,376 a year for Studio plus the website add-on, against $1,188 a year for our all-in retainer. That is a $1,188 a year difference, and our $2,250 one-time build equals 1.9 years of it ($2,250 ÷ $1,188). Zen Planner's number moves up with your member count; ours is the published flat price.
Card processing: check your own statement
Zen Planner does not publish a processing rate. Its pricing page marks payment processing with "Additional charges and/or fees may apply" and its FAQ names Daxko Payments as the in-house provider. So check your own statement: total processing fees for the month, divided by total card volume billed, is your effective rate.
- 1Every 1 percentage point on $25,000 a month of card volume is $250 a month, or $3,000 a year. That is just $25,000 × 0.01.
- 2Stripe publishes 2.9% + 30¢ per successful domestic card charge (stripe.com/pricing, read 2026-09-26).
- 3On $25,000 a month across 175 charges, Stripe's published rate is $25,000 × 2.9% = $725, plus 175 × $0.30 = $52.50. That is $777.50 a month, $9,330 a year.
- 4Subtract $777.50 from your own monthly fee total to see your own gap. Multiply by 12 for the year.
Stripe's published rate: stripe.com/pricing, read 2026-09-26. For the step-by-step version of this arithmetic, including how to work out your own effective rate from a payout report, read what martial arts schools really pay for gym software and card fees.
Want this on your own tuition and card volume?
Run your own numbersWhat switching from Zen Planner actually involves
Four steps, in this order. We build the site in 24 hours while you pull your member data at your own pace, so nothing has to move until you are ready.
- 01
Export member and belt data
Pull your active student list, family accounts, rank history, and payment schedules out of your current reporting tools.
- 02
Review your 24-hour preview
We build a fast, mobile-first site for your school. Open it on your own phone and on a desktop before committing to anything.
- 03
Connect your own Stripe account
Your merchant balance stays yours, and charges sync to QuickBooks Online.
- 04
Move billing, then drop what you no longer use
Recreate recurring memberships, confirm no member is double-charged, then cancel the add-ons you have replaced.
Zen Planner Alternative FAQ
Why is the Zen Planner website priced separately?
Does your price go up as my enrollment grows?
Can I keep Zen Planner for scheduling and use you for the website?
What happens when a parent books a trial class on my new site?
What is included in the $50/month website retainer?
Related guides and comparisons
Pricing and trademarks
Prices as published on Zen Planner's site on 2026-09-26; check Zen Planner for current pricing. Zen Planner is a trademark of its owner. CyberKnockouts is not affiliated.
READY FOR YOUR KNOCKOUT?
Claim your free 24-hour preview. No credit card. No commitment. Just a website worth fighting for.
Claim Your Free Preview